2010 AMA Pro Motocross Freestone Results

Reigning AMA Pro Motocross Champion, Chad Reed has kept the momentum going in his title defence, finishing second overall in the Freestone National at Wortham, Texas and extended his lead in the 2010 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.

Jagermeister/KTM rider Mike Alessi and FMF/KTM rider Tommy Searle each had disappointing rides at the second round of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Series but managed to earn some much needed championship points to stay in the race.

Alessi had a great start to his day turning the fastest lap time of the qualifying practice session to earn first gate pick heading into the first moto. He had a good jump off the start of moto one but had a bobble which caused his foot to fall off the foot peg and miss a shift down the start straight which gave him an untypical bad start.

From his mid-pack start Alessi was able to work his way toward the top ten. He soon found himself in 11th place and settled there for the majority of the race. “I felt really tight the first moto and couldn’t get in a good groove,” commented Alessi. Right before the two lap mark Alessi suffered a crash while closing in on the 10th place ride of Davi Millsaps. Alessi was quick to recover with the electric start on his KTM 350 SX-F and only lost one position. He finished the moto in 12th place.

While Alessi returned to the pits to evaluate his race and recover from the 100 degree plus temperatures, FMF/KTM rider Tommy Searle headed to the start line. Searle had a remarkable first moto at the opening round of the series earning 2nd overall but suffered a hard crash in the second moto putting him into the ground on his injured shoulder.

When the gate dropped Searle took off down the start straight with a mid-pack start. He came out around 16th and tried his hardest to move up through the pack and salvage points while trying not to push too hard on his injured shoulder. He finished the first moto in 12th.

All eyes were on Alessi in 450 moto two as the gate was about to drop. This time Alessi had a much better start coming around the first corner in 3rd position. He quickly moved into 2nd place and began to close on leader Brett Metcalfe. The top five riders pulled on the pack out front and Alessi remained right on the tail of Metcalfe. On lap three Alessi was able to make a pass for the lead. He led the race approximately three laps before he crashed in the same corner he did in the first moto handing the lead to Ryan Dungey. Alessi recovered in 6th place about 25 seconds down from Dungey. Alessi did his best to recover and gain back lost positions. He eventually caught up to Andrew Short on the final lap and made the pass for 5th position. Alessi’s 12-5 scores gave him 7th for the day and he is now 3rd in overall points.

The second 250 moto was a repeat of the first for Searle. His start was slightly better completing the first lap in 8th place but a series of mistakes and a weakening shoulder put him right outside the top ten for the majority of the race. He did have a good battle with Jake Weimer and Blake Baggett in the final three laps for the 11th place position but eventually finished in 13th. His 12-13 scores earned him 12th overall.

In the 250 class, Christophe Pourcel took the win. Pourcel rode to victory in the first race, but only managed a fifth place finish in race two. Pourcel sits in first in the 250 class, 9 points ahead of Eli Tomac.

On the last lap, however, Wilson misread the pit board, and mistakenly thought he had a much bigger lead than he did. Seeing Rattray just behind him, Wilson slowed to let him by, thinking he was giving Rattray another lap to go. But when the checkers flew and Rattray’s fist was in the air, Wilson realized his mistake and threw his arms up in exasperation as he approached the finish line. Tickle also capitalized on the snafu and slid by in the last few feet to steal second in the moto, ending Wilson’s chance at an overall win.

The resulting outcome still allowed Mitch Payton’s Pro Circuit squad to fill the podium with Christophe taking the spoils followed by Rattray and Wilson. The two were actually tied in points on the day, but the runner-up nod went to Rattray on account of his second moto win.

Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship
Flagstar Bank Freestone National
Freestone Raceway – Wortham, Texas
June 5, 2010

Round 2 of 12

Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Top Ten Round Results – Freestone National
1. Ryan Dungey, 50pts
2. Chad Reed, 42pts
3. Kyle Regal, 37pts
4. Brett Metcalfe, 32pts
5. Josh Grant, 27pts
6. Thomas Hahn, 27pts
7. Mike Alessi, 25pts
8. Ben Townley, 25pts
9. Kyle Chisholm, 24pts
10. Michael Byrne, 23pts

Top Ten Championship Standings – AMA Pro Motocross 450 Championship
1. Chad Reed, 87pts
2. Ryan Dungey, 76pts
3. Mike Alessi, 68pts
4. Brett Metcalfe, 66pts
5. Josh Grant, 60pts
6. David Millsaps, 55pts
7. Ben Townley, 54pts
8. Kyle Regal, 51pts
9. Thomas Hahn, 43pts
10. Andrew Short, 37pts

450 Overall Results:
1. Ryan Dungey, Suzuki (1-1)
2. Chad Reed, Kawasaki (2-3)
3. Kyle Regal, Honda (6-2)
4. Brett Metcalfe, Honda, (7-4)
5. Josh Grant, Yamaha (5-10)
6. Tommy Hahn, Suzuki, (4-12)
7. Mike Alessi, KTM (12-5)
8. Ben Townley, Honda (3-16)
9. Kyle Chisholm, Yamaha (9-9)
10. Michael Byrne, Yamaha, (8-11)
11. Kyle Cunningham, Yamaha (13-8)
12. Nick Wey, Kawasaki (11-13)
13. Andrew Short, Honda (39-6)
14. Matt Goerke, Yamaha (38-7)
15. Heath Harrison, Kawasaki (15-14)

450 Overall Standings:
1. Chad Reed, 87
2. Ryan Dungey, 76
3. Mike Alessi, 68
4. Brett Metcalfe, 66
5. Josh Grant, 60
6. Davi Millsaps, 55
7. Ben Townley, 54
8. Kyle Regal, 51
9. Tommy Hahn, 43
10. Andrew Short, 37

250 Overall Results:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki (1-5)
2. Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki, (6-1)
3. Dean Wilson, Kawasaki, (3-3)
4. Broc Tickle, Yamaha, (8-2)
5. Trey Canard, Honda (4-7)
6. Eli Tomac, Honda (2-11)
7. Wil Hahn, Honda, (9-6)
8. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki, (5-12)
9. Max Anstie, Yamaha, (15-4)
10. Justin Barcia, Honda (10-8)
11. Martin Davalos, Yamaha, (13-9)
12. Tommy Searle, KTM (12-13)
13. Blake Wharton, Honda, (7-34)
14. Matt Lemoine, Suzuki, (14-15)
15. Phillip Nicoletti, KTM (16-14)

250 Overall Standings:
1. Christophe Pourcel, 86
2. Eli Tomac, 77
3. Dean Wilson, 69
4. Trey Canard, 68
5. Broc Tickle, 61
6. Tyla Rattray, 58
7. Jake Weimer, 56
8. Justin Barcia, 54
9. Wil Hahn, 50
10. Max Anstie, 40

If you enjoy reading our Articles, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles and News information on Motorcycles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you and have a great day!

Comments are closed.