Front row for 2011 Swan Yamaha team at Brands Hatch British Superbike

British Superbike: Yamaha Racing Press Release

British Superbike: The Swan Yamaha pairing of Michael Laverty and Tommy Hill will start the opening race of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Brands Hatch from the front row of the grid tomorrow after qualifying in third and fourth respectively.

It was an intense qualifying session in the heat at Brands Hatch and after Hill and Laverty topped the overall times in the combined free practice session, confidence was high for the Swan Yamaha team.

The pair comfortably made it through to the final stage of qualifying and pushed hard to achieve the first front row start of the new season.

Laverty said: “I am pretty happy after qualifying today as I have never been a one lap wonder in qualifying, so a front row start was what we needed and that’s what we achieved. We have a good pace for tomorrow races and I know that we can challenge at the front. It would be great to be on the podium for the Swan Yamaha team at the first round of the season.”

Hill said: “We have been good in every session and just building all the time. I knew I had something in reserve which I wanted to save until qualifying but we had a slight problem with grip. We are going to make a few minor tweaks tomorrow but I am feeling good and we want to challenge for podiums and give my home fans something to cheer about.”

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship, Brands Hatch, race two result:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha)
  2. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) +0.142s
  3. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) +0.598s
  4. Michael Laverty (Swan Yamaha) +4.463s
  5. John Hopkins (Samsung Crescent Racing) +10.089s
  6. Stuart Easton (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +11.984s
  7. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) +13.048s
  8. Dan Linfoot ( Honda) +13.897s
  9. Peter Hickman (Tyco Honda) +18.431s
  10. Gary Mason (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) +18.473s

MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship standings after Brands Hatch:

  1. Tommy Hill (Swan Yamaha) 45
  2. Shane Byrne (HM Plant Honda) 41
  3. Stuart Easton (MSS Colchester Kawasaki) 23
  4. Ryuichi Kiyonari (HM Plant Honda) 20
  5. Michael Rutter (Rapid Solicitors-Bathams Ducati) 19

The next round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship is next weekend (30 April – 2 May) at Oulton Park. For more information and to book visit or call 0843 453 9000.

If you enjoy reading our Articles, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles and News information on Motorcycles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you and have a great day!

Comments are closed.