American Suzuki Honours the 2010 Motorcycle AMA Champions

Team Suzuki Press Release

American Suzuki Motor Corporation is to present its five Suzuki champions of the 2010 AMA race season with custom commemorative awards honouring their achievements.

The custom, hand-built awards are being presented to Ryan Dungey, the 2010 AMA Supercross and Motocross Champion, Josh Strang, the 2010 GNCC Bike XC1 Champion, Chris Borich, the 2010 GNCC ATV XC1 Champion, Josh Creamer, the 2010 AMA ATV Motocross Champion and Martin Cardenas, the 2010 AMA Daytona Sportbike Champion.

“We’re ecstatic with the results these great Champions were able to accomplish in 2010,” said Suzuki Manager of Communications Steve Bortolamedi.

“It is a testament to the hard work and will of the riders and teams as well as the power and performance of Suzuki Motorcycles and ATVs.

“Our results speak for themselves as Suzuki motorcycles and ATVs have been dominant in many categories since their introduction. Suzuki’s DNA, the GSX-R Sportbike, has completely dominated the AMA Superbike Championship series for well over the past decade.

The Suzuki RM-Z450 was the first four-stroke AMA Supercross Champion, as well as the first fuel-injected AMA Supercross and Motocross Championship motorcycle. The RM-Z450 also holds the honours of having the most AMA Motocross titles and by far the most AMA Motocross wins of any 450 four-stroke motorcycle.

Our Suzuki QuadRacer R450 has dominated the AMA ATV Motocross Championship scoring titles for the last three years in a row. The potent and reliable Suzuki QuadRacer has also dominated and claimed the last two GNCC ATV XC1 Championships as well.”

Suzuki is serious about racing and for 2011 its commitment is stronger than ever: It all starts on January 8th when the gate drops on the 2011 AMA Supercross season in Anaheim, California. The Rockstar Makita Suzuki team will be ready to dominate with returning AMA Supercross and Motocross Champion Ryan Dungey. Dungey will be joined by new team mate Brett Metcalfe and both will be competing aboard a pair of Yoshimura-equipped 2011 Suzuki RM-Z450s.

The Rockstar Energy Suzuki Team will be representing Suzuki in the AMA Supercross Lites class for 2011. Competing aboard the all-new 2011 Suzuki RM-Z250 for the 2011 Rockstar Energy Suzuki Team will be Martin Davalos, Ryan Morais, Ian Trettel and Jason Anderson. In the off-road arena, the FMF Makita Suzuki team will be back in force competing in the 2011 GNCC Bike XC1 Championship with returning champion Josh Strang aboard his 2011 Suzuki RM-Z450.

In road racing, the Rockstar Makita Yoshimura Suzuki team will be in full force, competing in the 2011 AMA American Superbike Championship with a pair of Yoshimura-prepared 2011 Suzuki GSX-R1000s ridden by returning riders Tommy Hayden and Blake Young. Also campaigning the GSX-R1000 will be the Michael Jordan Motorsports team with Ben Bostrom aboard the Jordan Suzuki and Roger Lee Hayden on the National Guard Jordan Suzuki.

Competing with the all-new 2011 Suzuki GSX-R600 in the Daytona Sportbike class will be the M4 Suzuki team with 2010 Daytona Sportbike Champion Martin Cardenas and the GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki team with Danny Eslick. M4 Suzuki will also compete in the Superbike class with Chris Ulrich. Rounding out the Suzuki road race effort in the Daytona Sportbike class will be the Vesrah Suzuki team with returning rider Cory West also piloting the new Suzuki GSX-R600.

“We’ve been fortunate to have quality, competitive product, strong results and great sponsors to build such a strong and dominant race program,” said Suzuki Motorcycle and ATV National Sales Manager Rod Lopusnak. “Our goal is to maintain this position and continue this success in 2011 and beyond.”

In 2011, American Suzuki will continue to offer racers at all levels their industry-leading support and contingency programs.

More information can be found at

If you enjoy reading our Articles, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles and News information on Motorcycles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you and have a great day!

Comments are closed.