Ryan Dungey Takes Budds Creek to his third straight 450 Motocross win!

Ryan Dungey, 2010 Budds Creek Motocross

third straight 450 Motocross race in a row!

450 Motocross

Ryan Dungey, of Belle Plaine, Minn., and the current 450 Class points leader, carried a four-moto win streak into Budds Creek but had to settle for third in Moto 1 behind Honda Red Bull Racings Andrew Short, from Smithville, Texas, and Jagermeister KTMs Mike Alessi, from Victorville, Calif., after an early crash.

Andrew Short beat out Dungey in the first moto, but Dungey reclaimed the top spot on the podium during moto 2.

Short took the holeshot again during race two, but by lap four Dungey had claimed the lead, and wouldn’t give it up for the rest of the race.

Short eventually dropped back into 5th, but his 1-5 finish at Budds Creek would earn him a second place spot for the day.

Chad Reed, who was coming off of his worst showing of the season, had an impressive showing at Budds Creek. Reed finished one spot behind Dungey at both races, giving him a 4-2 finish, and a third place spot at the Budds Creek MX event.

Ben Townley rounded out the podium during the second moto, a big improvement from his 14th place finish in moto 1. Dungey now leads in the standings with 171 points. Reed jumps back into second place with 135, followed by Metcalfe with 131.

250 Motorcross

Dean Wilson wins 250 Motocross overall! Justin Barcia second overall

Taking the holeshot in the 250 class was Geico Powersports Honda rider Eli Tomac followed by Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel and Yamaha’s Max Anstie. After taking the Moto 1 win last week at High Point, Honda’s Justin Barcia had a good start at Budds Creek and was running in fourth out of the first turn. Not long
Taking the Moto 2 win and the overall victory at Budds Creek was Monster Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Dean Wilson.

into the opening lap, however, it was Frenchman Pourcel who overtook Tomac for the lead after the Honda rider chose a bad line entering a turn. Also getting a decent start was Tyla Rattray.

The running order of the pack after Lap 1 was Pourcel followed by Tomac, Anstie, and Barcia with Rattray advancing to fifth ahead of Martin Davalos. After getting a bad start back in 14th Trey Canard grabbed a fistfull of throttle to finish out the first moto in eighth-place.

After breaking his left arm earlier Blake Baggett didn’t compete in any motos at Budds Creek.

Anstie was running in third until a mishap near the end of the race left him having to settle for eighth-place. By the final lap Rattray had advanced to third and took a final pass over Barcia for second-place in Moto 1. His teammate Pourcel grabbed the Moto 1 victory and was able to extend his record of winning a moto in every round of the ’10 season so far.

First out of the gate for the second moto was Wil Hahn who was followed by Wilson, Blake Wharton, Barcia and Kawasaki’s Jake Weimer. Further back were teammates Pourcel and Rattray who suffered bad starts and were running sixth and eighth, respectively.

Taking third ahead of Wharton at the end of the opening lap was Barcia who continued to impress on his Honda. Also advancing were Pourcel and Rattray who moved up to fifth and sixth.

On Lap 2 Wilson was able to take the lead away from Hahn and run away with the Moto 2 win. Combined with his fourth in Moto 1, Wilson was able to claim the overall ahead of Barcia, who had a 3-2 result. Advancing steadily throughout the race was Rattray who took third in Moto 2 and an overall result of third-place at Budds Creek. His teammate Pourcel took fourth overall after going down in the final lap of the second moto.\

Budds Creek Motocross Park – Mechanicsville, Md.

450 Class (Moto Finish)
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (3-1)
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (1-5)
Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki (4-2)
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (5-4)
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (2-12)
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (6-6)
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha (7-7)
Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (14-3)
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (8-8)
Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (10-10)

450 Class Championship Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 171
Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 135
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 131
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 129
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 120
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 116
Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 114
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 81
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 81
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki, 81

250 Class (Moto Finish)
Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (4-1)
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (3-2)
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (2-3)
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (1-6)
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (5-4)
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (6-5)
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (7-8)
Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha (9-10)
Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (11-9)
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (10-13)

250 Class Championship Standings
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 169
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 144
Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 143
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 121
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 120
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 120
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 109
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda, 106
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 94
Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 82

If you enjoy reading our Articles, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles and News information on Motorcycles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you and have a great day!

Comments are closed.