Ryan Dungey: Lakewood Colorado Thunder Valley AMA Pro Motocross

Since coming slow out of the gates to kick-off the 2010 Motocross season, Dungey and the Rockstar/Makita Suzuki squad have been virtually unstoppable.

ryan dungey, ama pro motocross, motocross

Victory at Thunder Valley

Dungey’s third place finish in the opening moto at Budds Creek was his first non-moto win in four motos, but he bounced back in the final moto to re-assert himself at the front of the field and take his fifth win in the last six motos.

He currently sits 36 points ahead of Chad Reed and doesn’t appear to be slowing down.

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Ben Townley, of New Zealand, posted his best finish of the season, grabbing the runner-up spot (6-2) while GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, of Australia, finished third (4-4) and assumed the runner-up position in the season standings. Defending champion Chad Reed, of Australia, finished ninth (10-7) and fell from second to third in the points.

Dungey now holds a 51-point advantage heading into the halfway point of the season, leading the most laps in the class at 62 and holding the best average finish of 2.7.

Christophe Pourcel, the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider from France, raced to his second 250 Class victory of the season.

In addition to the exciting weekend of racing on tap, Dungey also got some thrilling news from ESPN. He has been nominated for the 2010 ESPN ESPY Awards in the “Best Male Action Sports Athlete” category, and is the only motocrosser to be nominated in the category. His nod is due to his phenomenal 2010 Supercross Championship as well as his strong start to the AMA Motocross series. The award will be determined by fan votes at www.espys.tv and www.facebook.com/ESPN from now until July 10.

Team sponsors: Rockstar, Makita, Yoshimura, Dunlop, Maxima, Tag Sprockets, Pro Taper, Alpinestars, ONE Industries, Mechanix Wear, Showa, Road Champs, CP Pistons, Hinson Clutch Components, Snap-On, Teka Group *** Twin Air, D.I.D., Excel, NGK, Works Connection

Toyota Trucks Thunder Valley National motocross
Thunder Valley MX Park – Lakewood, Colo., June

* As always, the mile high altitude at Thunder Valley will provide an additional challenge for mechanics and riders alike in making the bikes perform at their peak and riders adjusting physically to the thinner air.
* Thunder Valley was the first and only motocross event to ever be held under the lights for 2008 and 2009. It returns to the original daytime format this season.
* Both of Ivan Tedesco’s inaugural 250 and 450 Class victories came at Thunder Valley, his self proclaimed home race.
* Ryan Dungey has captured five of the last six motos and is now averaging a podium finish this season.
* Andrew Short’s moto win was his first since 2007 at Thunder Valley.
* Short holds an average finish of 9.5, but sits fifth in the championship.
* The battle for the runner-up spot in the championship standings is tight as only 15 points separate second from fifth.
* Dungey possesses the best average finish of any rider in the 450 Class at 3.0. Andrew Short possesses the best average start at 3.1.
* Only Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki and GEICO Powersports Honda riders have won 250 Class motos in 2010.
* Christophe Pourcel has one at least one moto at each round this season.
* Dean Wilson became the first Scottish and Canadian winner in AMA Motocross history.
* Wilson became the 69th different winner in 250 Class history.
* Wilson has the second best finishing average in the class at 4.5, but sits third in the standings.
* The Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki trio of Pourcel, Rattray and Wilson are slowly gapping themselves from the rest of the 250 Class field.
* Three of Mitch Payton’s four riders have won an overall in 2010.
* Pourcel possesses the best average finish of any rider in the 250 Class at 2.8 as well as average start at 3.9.
* Pourcel has posted the fastest practice lap at all four rounds in 2010.

450 Class Stats

* The first Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship race was held at Thunder Valley on July 24, 2005, with Ricky Carmichael winning on a Suzuki.
* This will be only the sixth time the gate has dropped for the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship at Thunder Valley.
* Only three riders have ever won at Thunder Valley.
* Colorado-native Andrew Short has been on the cusp of achieving his first overall at this track and perhaps has his best opportunity to do so this season, coming off a pair of runner-up efforts the last two weeks.

250 Class Stats

* The first 250 Class race was held July 24, 2005, with Ivan Tedesco winning on a Kawasaki.
* Pro Circuit and Kawasaki have won every race at Thunder Valley in the 250 Class.
* Local rider Andrew Short was on the verge of claiming the 2006 event aboard a Honda before bike failure forced him out of the lead in the second moto.
* There as never been a repeat winner at Thunder Valley.

450 Motocross Thunder Valley Results:
1. Ryan Dungey (Suzuki) 2-1
2. Ben Townley (Honda) 6-2
3. Brett Metcalfe (Honda) 4-4
4. Josh Grant (Yamaha) 1-10
5. Andrew Short (Honda) 8-3
6. Kyle Regal (Honda) 9-6
7. Kyle Chisholm (Yamaha) 7-8
8. Mike Alessi (KTM) 12-5
9. Chad Reed (Kawasaki) 10-7
10. Justin Brayton (Yamaha) 13-9
11. Daniel Reardon (Yamaha) 11-11
12. Thomas Hahn (Suzuki) 3-35
13. Kyle Cunningham (Yamaha) 5-22
14. Nicholas Wey (Kawasaki) 16-12
15. Grant Langston (Yamaha) 15-13

450 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Ryan Dungey, 218
2. Brett Metcalfe, 167
3. Chad Reed, 160
4. Mike Alessi, 154
5. Andrew Short, 153
6. Josh Grant, 152
7. Ben Townley, 151
8. Kyle Chisholm, 108
9. Thomas Hahn, 101
10. Kyle Regal, 94

250 Motocross Thunder Valley Results:
1. Christophe Pourcel (Kawasaki) 1-1
2. Trey Canard (Honda) 3-2
3. Dean Wilson (Kawasaki) 2-3
4. Tyla Rattray (Kawasaki) 4-4
5. Blake Wharton (Honda) 6-5
6. Broc Tickle (Yamaha) 5-6
7. Martin Davalos (Yamaha) 8-8
8. Eli Tomac (Honda) 7-9
9. Cole Seely (Honda) 9-12
10. Justin Barcia (Honda) 16-7
11. Vince Friese (Yamaha) 13-11
12. Alex Martin (Honda) 11-16
13. Killy Rusk (KTM) 14-13
14. Hunter Hewitt (Suzuki) 14-15
15. Darryn Durham (Honda) 40-10

250 Motocross Championship Points:
1. Christophe Pourcel, 219
2. Dean Wilson, 185
3. Tyla Rattray, 180
4. Trey Canard, 162
5. Broc Tickle, 151
6. Justin Barcia, 140
7. Eli Tomac, 135
8. Blake Wharton, 112
9. Martin Davalos, 108
10. William Hahn, 106

WMX Class Point Standings – After 2 of 8 rounds

1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 100
2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 86
3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 77
4. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 65
5. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 56
6. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 51
7. Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 48
8. Elizabeth Bash, Riverside, Calif., Honda, 46
9. Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 44
10. Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha, 40
11. Sayaka Kaneshiro, Japan, Suzuki, 40

WMX Class Overall Wins
Jessica Patterson – 2

WMX Class Moto Wins
Jessica Patterson – 4

WMX Class Wins by Brand
Yamaha – 2

If you enjoy reading our Articles, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles and News information on Motorcycles delivered to your feed reader. Thank you and have a great day!

Comments are closed.