2010 Las Vegas Supercross Final Round Results

The 2010 Supercross ChampionThe 20 year old Ryan Dungey from Belle Plaines, Minn., won the Supercross series finale Saturday night at Sam Boyd Stadium with a stoked crowd of 39,506.

Dungey’s sixth victory of the 17-race season came three weeks after he became only the second rookie to win the Supercross championship.

He also became the youngest rider to do it. Kawasaki’s Rider Chad Reed finished second after moving behind Dungey on the second turn.

Honda’s Rider Kevin Windham, who came in with wins in his previous two races, started in the middle of the pack and moved into third place by the eighth lap and held on.

Jake Weimer, Rider from Rupert, Idaho, won the Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Shootout earlier in the night. His Kawasaki teammates Dean Wilson and Josh Hansen finished second and third, respectively.

Now it’s time to move on to the first outdoor National Motorcross Event on May 22 at Hangtown check out our Facebook page in the RED menu bar for more information. This is going to be an Awesome summer for racing!

2010 Las Vegas Supercross Final Round Results

AMA Supercross FINALE in Las Vegas, get ready for some intense racing!

The 2010 AMA Supercross Championship!

This was a Supercross season that put many of the riders on the bench due to there injuries. The 2010 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Championship commences at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas this weekend. With James Stewart and Chad Reed out due to injuries for most of the Supercross season, this year’s season came down to a dual between the Ryans, Suzuki Makita Suzuki rider Ryan Dungey and Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopoto.

after breaking his leg during the St. Louis round, Villopoto’s shot at the title was over…and he was the only rider capable of challenging Dungey. During the next race, Round 14 in Seattle, Dungey officially clinched the title. He went on to be the only rookie to earn a championship during a rookie year besides the legendary Jeremy McGrath.

Even though Dungey already owns the Number 1 plate, the racing is still intense and it could be there for any of the riders. Last week in Salt Lake City, the SX field battled through rain, snow, sleet and then rain again. The oldest rider currently competing, GEICO Powersports Honda rider Kevin Windham, went on to win his second consecutive race of the 2010 Supercross season during the race that was shortened to 15 laps due to Rain and Snow. The 32-year-old would get the holeshot, and swap the lead multiple times on the first lap with Honda Red Bull Racing rider Davi Millsaps before taking first and leading all 15 laps. Millsaps would finish second, and his teammate, Andrew Short of Smithville, Texas, would finish third.

Ryan Villopoto’s teammate Chad Reed, who made his return at Round 13 in Houston after being out of action since Round 2 in Phoenix due to an injury, did not race last week. He was celebrating the birth of his baby boy Tate. Nothing has been officially released about him racing in Las Vegas. During last year’s season closer in Las Vegas, Villopoto took the win before almost 40,000 fans. The first race held in Sam Boyd Stadium was in March of 1990, and Jeff Matiasevich took the win on a Kawasaki.

That same year, McGrath won in the AMA Supercross Lites class. In the annual Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Christophe Pourcel took the win, earning a Toyota Tundra for his efforts.

Both the Supercross class and Dave Coombs Sr. East/West Supercross Lites Shootout will be televised live on SPEED at 10 p.m. (EST) Saturday, May 8. The CBS AMA SX wrap-up will air at 5 p.m. (EST) Sunday on CBS.

AMA Supercross FINALE in Las Vegas, get ready for some intense racing!